The String Arcade is Video Game Music Arranged for String Quartet, Check it out

by on January 30, 2014

Everyone once in a while, something interesting in the video game music scene appears, and this is one of those things.

Headed up by Dren McDonald, The String Arcade is a collection of classic pieces of video game music arranged for string quartet. Available both digitally and at retail (what is a CD, you ask? Well that’s another story for another time…), you can pre-order it now ahead of the February 11th release.

Oh and did we mention, all proceeds are being donated to a non-profit after school music program in Almeda, CA.

You can check out one of the tracks below, and you can pre-order on iTunes here, or BandCamp here. More information is available on the official site.

The track list is as follows:

  1. Grasswalk – Plants Vs. Zombies 03:05
  2. Echos of Ecco – Ecco The Dolphin
  3. Ferdinand Wanders Out For a Late Night Haircut – Pettington Park
  4. Engii – FTL
  5. Sonic 2 Scherzo – Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  6. Outlaws Title Theme
  7. Medicated Cow Walks the Cobbled Streets with Disgruntled Goat – Ravenshire Castle
  8. Scurvy Scallywags Theme – Scurvy Scallywags
  9. Scabb Cemetery_International House of Mojo – Secret of Monkey Island 2
  10. Optimism For an Improvement in The John Situation
  11. Turret Suite – Portal 2
  12. Minecraft Title Theme
  13. Tango Down – graBLOX
  14. Dance of the Space Bugs – Galaga
  15. The Legend of Zelda Title Theme