Voice Actors Strike Authorised After Resounding ‘Yes’ Vote

by on October 8, 2015

SAG-AFTRA has announced that the planned voice actors strike has been authorised, after a landslide vote which agreed with the action.

A resounding 96.52% of members voted ‘Yes’ to the strike action in the ballot which closed yesterday (October 6). However, this does not mean that members are on strike immediately: the vote only gives the National Board the authority to declare a strike, only available if over 75% of members support the action.

The result also means that the Negotiating Committee will return to the bargaining table in a bid to secure a fairer resolution for those performing in the video game industry. The Interactive Media Agreement expired on December 31, 2014. Bargaining sessions held in February and June of this year failed to produce an agreement.

Eurogamer noted that prominent voice actors such as Jennifer Hale (Mass Effects), Ashly Burch (Life is Strange), Wil Wheaton (Broken Age), David Hayter (Metal Gear Solid), Elias Toufexis (Deus Ex: Human Revolution) and Tara Strong (Batman: Arkham City) were all in favour of the strike.